Forum Discussion

me-ver-91
Level 4
7 years ago

How to configure backups through SAN (VMware) to NBU 5240 Appliance

Hello experts,

I have a netbackup 5240 appliance running v3.1. This 5240 appliance acts as Master/Media/Backup Host for VMware.

I am very new to appliances and networking. I want to be able to perform VMware backups over the SAN to the appliance.

Here is what I did so far:

1. I physically connected fiber cables from ports 1 and 2 of slots 5 and 6 on the appliance to 2 SAN switches for redundancy (each slot connects to both switches).
  2. Then, in the Appliance Web Console > Settings > Network > Fiber Transport, I selected "Enable SAN Client Fiber Transport on the Media Server (use FT for backups to this Appliance)" and chose "4 target port Fiber Channel connection". The appliance asked for a reboot so I did.
  3. I zoned the ESX hosts' ports with the appliance's ports on both SAN switches (each zone has 1 ESX port and 2 appliance ports (1 from each slot) ==> 1 initiator and 2 targets).
  4. I then configured a VMware backup policy containing 1 VM and selected only the SAN transport type to test its functionality. However this backup fails (Error - error opening the snapshot disks using given transport mode: san Status 23).

Do I also need to zone the VMware Datastores (LUNs) with the appliance fiber ports on the SAN switches? If yes, does this mean that each zone has 1 LUN and 2 appliance ports (1 from each slot)?

I also read somewhere that I need to run the following commands on the Media Server before zoning:

• diskpart
  • automount disable
  • automount scrub

Are these commands necessary on my appliance which is Master/Media? If yes, how can I run them?

I know I'm missing some configuration, I just don't know what.

I kindly need your help. Thank you very much in advance!!

Marianne
    7 years ago

Why do you want to use iSCSI?

Do you have a model H Appliance? Please see attached pdf. Only model H comes with iSCSI.