Forum Discussion

SteveLaw
Level 5
11 years ago

Rename a media server?

Hi,

We're using Netbackup 7.5.0.5, Windows 2008 R2 master server. 

I'm a Netbackup amateur. One of my media servers has been migrated to a new active directory. This means it's FQDN has changed from server1.ourcorp.net to server1.newdomain.com. This doesn't seem to make any difference to Netbackup - as recommended we use hosts files instead of DNS, Netbackup still thinks of the server as server1.ourcorp.net and can resolve its IP address ok. 

But from now on everywhere else the server will be known as server1.newdomain.com, and I want to rename the media server to reflect the change, and ok I will have to update all the HOSTS files on all the media servers. I think some of the clients don't rely on HOSTS files and there will probably be problems somewhere down the line if I don't keep server FQDN names up to date. 

So how do I change the media server name within Netbackup? I know there's an ALIAS function which I've used before, but it doesn't actually change the display name within Netbackup, just adds an entry somewhere to the equivalent of server BOB = server FRED or similar. Surely I don't have to remove and re-add the media server? That would involve reassigning all the backups it owns etc etc. Is there a simple way to say "rename server1.ourcorp.net to server1.newdomain.com"?

Thanks!

• There are a few things to do .. if you have disk images you need to expire all those first to make life easy (or copy them somewhere so that they can be imported back once the name has changed).. if it just uses tape:

1. Add it as a new media server:

nbemmcmd -addhost -machinename server.newdomain.com - machinetype media -operatingsystem windows -netbackupversion 7.5.0.5 -masterserver masternservername

2. On the media server open up its registry and edit the Browser, ClientName and Server keys (HKLM\Software\veritas\netbackup\currentversion\config\)

3. Edit the \netbackup\volmgr\vm.conf file