Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 1


UK Cyber Essentials


From 1 October 2014, the UK government has made it mandatory that all suppliers bidding for certain sensitive and personal information handling contracts to be certified against the Cyber Essentials scheme.

The scheme’s five security controls apply to:

  • Access Control
  • Malware Protection
  • Patch Management
  • Secure Configuration
  • Boundary Firewall and Internet Gateway

There are two level of certification available: Cyber Essentials and Cyber Essentials Plus. A Cyber Essentials certification is awarded on the basis of a verified self-assessment and approved by a senior executive and verified by an independent Certification body.  Cyber Essentials Plus offers a higher level of assurance through external testing of an organization’s cyber security approach.

UK Symantec Certification Status
Cyber Essentials In Progress

Return to Global Certification Management Program Office.

Return to the Customer Trust Portal.

Version history
Last update:
‎04-24-2015 09:49 AM
Updated by: