cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BE 12.5 offsite tape storage (for disaster recovery) with encryption key... walkthrough example

bearbeat99
Not applicable

Good day- noobidy-noob here with a most basic question.

I am wishing to store my organization's data offsite to mitigate loss due to catastrophe. (I live along the OR Coast, with the Cascadia Subduction Zone a true and looming threat to our campus.)

Even after looking through the documentation, I feel I still need my hand held about how the data can be accessed to start a full recovery.

Example: Let's say I make a full file server backup using an encryption key. I ship these tapes offsite to Seattle for safekeeping. I give the encryption key name and password to a trusted agent also located offsite in Seattle. {{{shake-shake-shake}}}. Tsunami wipes me and my campus data closet off the map. As the wave slams into me, I can die peacefully knowing that the data can be loaded up, accessed with the key, and fully recovered because a catalog was created and written to the tape set. Right? Because, this is where it is a little hazy for me.

So, all the trusted agent has to do to recover that data is load up a [Backup Exec managed] tape library with the tape set, and then run Catalog, or Inventory, or Import? From what I have read, a catalog is created on both the media server and the media itself, right? So, I have nothing to worry about as long as the encryption key/passwrord is not lost or forgotten...

Thanks for any insight you may have...

Bear

2 REPLIES 2

SuperBrain
Employee Accredited

because a catalog was created and written to the tape set. Right?

Right!!

So, all the trusted agent has to do to recover that data is load up a [Backup Exec managed] tape library with the tape set, and then run Catalog, or Inventory, or Import? From what I have read, a catalog is created on both the media server and the media itself, right?