cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BE 2012 and diskpools

Flyfish
Level 3

Hi

I've to say that I am new to BE 2012, but I have a lot of experience from other backup products. I've been working on this issue for a client for a while.

Issue is:

A backup job (lets call it job1) is set to use a storage diskpool for backup. This diskpool contains 4 disks in total (lets call them disk1-4). The backup job1 will only use disk1 and disk2, even though these disks are full and of course the job is failing with insuffient disk space! Disk3 and 4 are online and present but BE does not use them for job1. Disk3 and 4 are added to the pool recently. I can easily create another new job and then BE will use all the disks where diskspace are available.
But for this specific job1 (which is created before adding disk3 and disk4) BE will only use disk1 and 2. Why does this job1 just not use a disk in the diskpool with enough diskspace?

I have opened a support case at Symantec and here are their suggestions so far:
1. Create a new job and set it to use the diskpool - Success
2. Recreate the problematic job1 with a new jobname, use exact same selections, options, etc - Fail, not enough diskspace
3. Disable GRT options in job1 - Fail, not enough diskspace (why does Sym support suggest this? GRT have nothing to with diskpools!)

Anyone seen this issue before?  IS it something in the SQL db that links this job1 or objects in job1 to use disk1 and 2 only?

I am stuck here :(

Cheers

11 REPLIES 11

pkh
   VIP    Certified

When you use a storage pool, BE will use the first AVAILABLE device in the pool regardless of how much space there is on the disk.  BE cannot predict the size of the backup, so it does not check for space.