cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BE2010 R3: Media view not refreshing?

MIXIT
Level 6
Partner Accredited

I'm fairly new to BE and am going through the 2200 page admin guide for it.  I'm in the section relating to mdia managemtn, (pages range around 200+).  It discusses how when under the Media section in BE, if you go to Online media it'll show you want's online.  My problem is this:

On a live server with BE, with a single LTO5 tape drive, the Online media view only shows the last tape that was used for last night's backup, even though the onsite user has already swapped in today's tape to be used for tonight's backup.  If I choose Refresh from the View menu, nothing changes.  If I look in Offline media, i see all the tapes that have ever been used (so far only about 9 or 10 since this is a new setup) but I don't think that's where I should look to find the tape that's currentlin in the drive. 

Is there a simple way to just "look" at what's currently in the drive? 

To extend this a bit, and perhaps the guide will show this soon, but how do I associated a tape with scratch media?  Actually i think I know the answer, you just hvae to right click the tape and tell it which media set to go with, problem is of coruse I can't get a real-time view of the current tape in the drive thus can't select it to associate. 

Thank you! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

AmolB
Employee Accredited Certified

You need to perform an inventory of the tape drive, after inventory is over BE will show the properties

of the media which is in the drive

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

AmolB

You need to perform an inventory of the tape drive, after inventory is over BE will show the properties

of the media which is in the drive

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited

Hi,

What I do is schedule an Inventory job if the tape will be changed nightly.