cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BE2014 - LTO3 Tapes Compression issue

VALEXEC15
Level 3

Hi All,

Im new to BE. our old server died and we setup BE 2014 (Service Pack 2 with Hotfix 227745 ) on brand new HP server (physical )few weeks ago (with HP MSL6000 Tape Libraray with LTO3 Drive )  then we import the Data and Catalouge from previous faulty server, since then Backups are running fine.

But noticed today that its using 8x LTO3 tapes for 1.6TB Data, when it should be using only 3x LTO3 tapes for full backup.  even daily Diff backups, using more than one tape now. (note: on old server full backup used only 3x LTO3 tapes )

we  have three jobs that runs and following are the size of the full backups on each jobs. 

VM-FULL - 1.03TB, Windows-FULL - 533GB, SQL-FULL - 166GB

Following are the settings I have, not sure whats going on , please help 

2016-05-09 12_34_23-wattyl12 - Remote Desktop Connection_0.png

2016-05-09 12_38_24-wattyl12 - Remote Desktop Connection_0.png

----- BACKUP EXEC 16 USER -------
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

VALEXEC15
Level 3

ooh Boy I think I resolved the issue now laugh, I didnt know about the following setting in BE2014 until this morning, accidently I came across. Wish Veritas support could have asked me to check this setting first before they spend nearly 2 hours on the phone other day, but no hard feelings.

Anyway I was right from the get go , it had do be something in BE2014, which it was, I did a test backup and it did compress 1.42:1 on HP LTO3 tape.

So this is how Hardware Compression feture needs to be enabled in BE2014. So im guessing that above Tracer logs trying to indicate that this feture was disbaled ?

2016-05-11 08_19_59-wattyl12 - Remote Desktop Connection.png

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15

Gurvinder
Employee Accredited Certified

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited