cancel
Showing results forΒ 
Search instead forΒ 
Did you mean:Β 

Backup Exec 11d -> 2012 = loss of flexibility

elcorti
Level 3

Hi all,

I have been using Veritas 11d for 5 years and I was fed up of it, its random errror messages, problems detecting hardware,... so I decided to give a try to 2012 version. So far I find the new interface way less user friendly and practical, on top of that there is a lack of features that were present in the old version and in this version just dont exist anymore... or I cannot find them, that could also be a reason. ;)

In my company we have a HP robot with 8 slots.

We have three partitions

• Partition 1:  1 slot  for cleaning
  • Partition 2 : 3 slots for weekly/monthly
  • Partition 3 : 4 slots for daily backup

In the past we had

• A daily (Mon-Thurs) backup , differential, pointing to partition 2
  • A weekly backup (Fri), full, pointing to partition 3

The week tapes are taken out the last week of the month and replace for new ones.

Now with the backup exec 2012, I dont know how to create two diferent jobs for this purpose. The storage is common for all the schedules.

Should I create two different jobs per server as I had in BE 11d? as I understand, every job server backup starts with a full schedule, then you can add extra backup jobs by method... but there is no way to create a single differential backup on a server .... the only way I found is to put on hold the main schedule (the one you can not remove) and create the differential one...

do I miss something?

thanks!!

Jose

PS: I update my problem, I did try to create that 'virtual' differential backup job. I put on hold the main schedule and add a second differential job... the result is when I try to run the Diferential backup the job gets marked as Rule Blocked.  Any idea how to overcome this issue? see attach.