cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup Exec 12.5 Email Notifications only work sporadically

Level 3
Partner Accredited Certified
First of all I maintain several (20+) Backup Exec environments and am quite familiar with the product that I have been using for several years!
One of the most annoying features of BE (all versions) to keep working seems to always be email alert notifications.

The Issue:

Presently, I have two clients whose email alert notifications are setup and work one or two days then stop. However, one recipient always seems to get their email. 
I can restart the services and then run a job and then all recipients get their notifications immediately without issue.
However, when the scheduled job runs that evening or the next the notifications mysteriously stop again for all but one recipient.
Now of course as so many of you know if I go and send a Test Notification it works perfectly every time no matter what!
(I don't think you even need an internet connection for that to work....just kidding...) Just annoying that this always seems to work but the jobs don't kick off notifications when they run.

Anyway, one of the strange symptoms of these environments is that one recipient is getting alerts every time but the other three are not.

I have four recipients setup to receive notifications.
Two each from different domains. Two are from the local domain and two are for our remote domain.
The issue is that not all recipients get their notification email when a job runs and completes!
I have the local recipients set to receive alerts via the Backup job itself under the Notification properties. (simple alerts)
I have the remote recipients set to receive alerts via Tools>Assign Recipients to Alert Categories since we want more types of alerts.

For example:
Right now of the 4 recipients only one is receiving alerts when a job completes.
Recipient 1 local domain - Does not receive
Recipient 2 local domain - Does not receive