cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup Exec 15 Disaster Recovery redux

Haas71
Level 2

I've been searching the forums for the answer, which has to be fairly simple, but I'm probably not searching this correctly. I found some help, but it was mostly for Netbackup. However, I'm sure this will be simeple for someone to answer for me.

We currently have two sites. The main site "A" is using  Backup Exec 15 and is backing everything up to a 19 TB Quantum DXI4701. All servers with the exception of our Exchange 2013 server and the backup server are on Hyper-V 2012 clusters. We are in the process of bringing our DR site "B" online. The DR site "B" will have the exact same server hardware and and another Quantum DXI4701. All backup data from the Quantum will be replicated to the DR site. I'm still learning the Backup Exec product and hope one of you could help me with this next part. The Backup Exec servers are not appliances.

So, once everything is replicated, what is the process to hook up another server using backup Exec 15 to tie into the replicated Quantum if the need should arise? The backup database and everything backup related is on the current live backup server. So what do I need to do to backup (if needed) the current live server, or how to run another server in tandom at the DR site without needing to do some type of reload and restore to a new backup server at the DR site? I already have th DB recovery key backed up. Do I need to buy an additional Backup Exec feature?

Thanks

6 REPLIES 6

VJware
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified

"All backup data from the Quantum will be replicated to the DR site."

We recommend using the built in "Duplication" of Backup Exec rather than using other forms of replication and this KB explains why - https://support.symantec.com/en_US/article.TECH176061.html