cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup Exec 15-Exchange 2010 Backup failed due to file system limitation and database corruption.

pfcITAdmin
Level 3

Hello, I need your help

The Image below shows the error message I get when I try to backup my Exchange 2010 server. I'm currently using the trial version of Backup Exec 15 with all updates installed. When I try to research the final error: 0x299, no valuable information comes up. Can anyone point me in the right direction for overcoming this issue. I'm new to backup exec and have been struggling with backing up the exchange server for a while now. 

Feel free to ask any questions. Thank you in advance.

Backup.jpg

20 REPLIES 20

Colin_Weaver
Employee Accredited Certified

Where are you backing up to?

Is it a Backup to Disk Folder on NTFS or FAT?

If it is a Backup to Disk folder, have you tested it with B2DTest.exe?

If it is a Backup to Disk foldr, what is the sector size of this location compared with the sector size of the volume that holds the Exchange edb file?

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited

...what is the size of your B2D file? Is it the default size of 4GB, or have you made it much larger?

Thanks!

pfcITAdmin
Level 3

The job was a Backup to Disk Folder with a maximum file size of 4GB. After looking into my Exchange .edb file, I found that it is about 300 GB. I have increased the maximum file size to 500GB in Backup Exec, restarted the server and ran the job again, I will post my results here later.

I'm not familiar with the B2DTest.exe, I will definitely look into it.

Thank you.

VJware
Level 6

Keep it default 4GB.

Here is the link to the B2D test tool - https://support.symantec.com/en_US/article.tech69107.html

Is this a local B2D or a remote B2D ?

Are any of the volumes compressed ?

pfcITAdmin
Level 3

Hello,

I ran the job Friday night with the maximum file size of 500BG and the backup failed, The error message is attached below

Backup2.jpg