cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup Exec 2010 DeDuplication = Ticking Time Bomb ?

Alexxx
Level 3
I have been using backupexec now for a few years and have been battling with the deduplication module of backupexec 2010 now for a few months. I can get it working fine, configured etc but the data is extremely prone to corruption. If the server is suddenly powered off, a file is in use when writing to etc. This results in backupexec 2010 jobs writing to the deduplication store to entire a deadlock state of continuously trying to start the job.

I have had this in the past where i have had to purge the entire dedupe store (not the ideal solution). Is there any way of bad block checking on the dedupe store without having to delete everything in there just so jobs will start to run? I dont really want to duplicate the deduplication store to another server as i am duplicating data which is normally done at the end of month to a tape.

Using SMB works perfect and can recover fine from sudden server/ service failure. I don’t think its possible to make the BE service redundant or bullet proof as i tried with VMware FT but the product just doesn’t seem to work right.

9 REPLIES 9

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited

Hi Alexxx,

Best bet would be to look at upgrading to BE 2010 R2...I believe it has a number of upgrades/improvements over BE 2010, especially with deduplication. I will be doing this from Monday.

Laters!

Symanticus
Level 6

hi Alex,

What's your Dedupe disk type ? is it SAN or NFS mount or just Windows Partition ?

I've been using BE 2010 dedupe drive on separate partition only dedicated for this dedupe and so far so good got no problem, but when i put NFS mount as the backup/dedupe store yes sometimes it doesn't work well since the physical disk is just D-Link DNS 323 NAS device.

CraigV

Hi Alexxx,

Any news here?

Thanks!

teiva-boy
Level 6