cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup Exec 2010 r2 -1 server - Backup Plan

Phenicie
Level 2

I feel like this is a very simple scenario, but i am new to this scene so i do not want to over look anything. I am looking to gain as much knowledge to customize my backup and make recovery as easy as possible.

I have one server for a small buisness. This server hosts Active Directory, FTP / File Server, Hyper-V server hosting Exchange 2010.

The server has a raid configuration equaling 1tb in storage.

I just purchased :
- external harddrive w/ raid configuration equaling 1.5tb in storage.
- Backup Exec 2010 r2
    -Hyper-V Add on
    -Exchange Server Add on.

My thoughts so far are :
- Monthly - Complete Image (Save for 2 Weeks)
- Weekly - Full (Save for 2 Weeks)
- Daily - Differential (Save for 2 weeks)

Can you please offer input on this strategy? Is this two many copies of the same data? Am i missing something?

Also I am trying to understand, will i install the Exchange Add-on on the virtual server and the server and hyper-v addon on the host OS? Reading the admin guide for Hyper-V i found this

"New
in Backup Exec 2010, granular recovery of a Guest virtual machine application such as Exchange, SQL and
Active Directory, may also be achieved without running a second pass backup of the application inside of the
virtual machine.
"

To me that makes it sound that i do not need the exchange add on, is that correct?

Any details or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I also have the administrator guides that i am reffering to. I also like to gain insight from individuals who use this software regularly for a better understanding.

Thank you in advance for any information you may be able to pass along.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

pkh
   VIP    Certified