cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup Exec 2010 w/USB HDDs / Insert Removable Media Alerts

Zack_R
Level 2

Hello, first time poster (thanks for having me)

I am pretty new to admin work with BE, we used to use 10d but someone before myself had set that up and it used different hardware.  Recently we have been trying to setup BE2010 with 5 removable USB HDDs Monday-Friday.  I've done plenty of searching and the number of posts about this topic make it obvious that it's not a very simple way to go about things.

I think I have it working, as I'm on day 3 of un-monitored 100% success backup jobs, but I do have a few questions.  I will list my configuration at the bottom of this post.  My main question is having the "Insert Removable Media" alert in between every .bkf (and I think therefore between every 4GB) normal?  I set the auto response to that alert as Yes, and the respond time to 1 minute, which is what finally got overnight backups working to 100% - but this seems to be adding about 1.5hrs to the backup time, as it looks like I have 80 alerts.  There must be a better way?  I guess I am mainly wondering if this is normal behavior is there a way to make the response time lower than 1 minute, or do i have this configured incorrectly for my hardware?  I am still pretty unclear on exactly how media sets work and are kept track of, I am just seeing 100% success with 0 alerts at the end of the jobs and figured I was off to a good start.

Some info on our system:
===============
Windows 2003 Standard with BackupExec 2010 backing up itself, a 2k8 x64 domain controller, a 2k standalone server, and an XP workstation being treated as a server (with SQL 2005).

5 1TB USB HDDs in enclosures labeled BACKUP1 through BACKUP5 (Mon-Fri).

Total backup size ~320GB.

I kept the default options for adding devices except that I changed the low diskspace setting to 20GB (4GB file sizes).