cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup Exec 2012 - Scheduling Dedupe Jobs

jpk
Level 4

Hello everyone,

I'm new to using the dedupe option so I appologize if my questions are repetative..

How are you guys typically configuring your dedupe jobs so that you retain the data with fulls/dif/inc efficiently?  There is an option labeled "keep for", which I'm assuming is similar to the retention period on tape media... yes/no?

Is there an advantage to creating frequent full backups?  All I can figure is that decreasing the time between full backups would allow you to reclaim space if needed.  If I set a job to take a monthly Full with daily differentials, what should I set the "keep for" to?  For example, if I want to keep 4 months worth of history on a server, is this the correct setup:

Full - First Saturday of each Month --> Keep For = 4 Months
Differential - Daily --> Keep For = 4 Months

Thanks,

Josh

5 REPLIES 5

SuperBrain
Employee Accredited

Differential backups are such that when you want to restore something to a particular point in time, you need to have the last successfull full backup set AND the latest differential.

So, you can keep the Differentials for a couple of weeks because:
1. Differentials contain all data which was changed since the last full backup.

2. Differentials are larger in size as compared to incrementals.

So coming back to the "keep for":

Full = Keep for 4 months (as required)

Differentials = Keep for a couple of weeks should be ok (unless you want to keep them for 4 months)

FYI:

Keep for
 Designates the amount of time for which you want to keep the backup sets or job history.

jpk
Level 4