cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup Exec 2014 VRAY - Granular Restore Problem via Disk Based Backup

Pigeonfarmer
Level 3

Hi there, 

I've read lots of posts on this forum and cannot find a solution to the exact problem I'm having, so I'm hoping someone here can help. I'm not a Backup Expert (clearly Smiley Happy) and I've just run out of ideas. 

I'm using Backup Exec 2014 VRAY with all updates, service packs, hotfixes installed on a Windows Server 2012 R2 Virtual Machine (VMWare 5.5). We run 2 backups on our site - a Tape Based backup where the tape gets taken off site (requirement of management), and a disk based backup. 

I regularly have to restore individual files from one of our file servers (virtual machine) from the disk based backup. I would like to be able to restore the individual files from the disk based backup, rather than having to stage the entire virtual machine somewhere first. As I have understood from what I have read, you should be able to restore at granular level with disk based backups, but not from a tape based backup for obvious reasons. 

I have the following options enabled on the backup that are related to GRT. 

GRToptions.PNG

I have tried two ways of restoring : 

1. Right click on the server in the server view > Restore > Files, Folders or Volumes > File and Folder backups from a backup set > Enter the date range and find the file I want to restore > 

This wants to stage the VM before restore 

2. Click on the VMware Cluster > Right-click on the server in question > Restore GRT-Enabled data for the selected virtual machine > Files, Folders or Volumes > File and folder backups from a backup set > Enter the date range and find the file I want to restore 

Whichever way I try, seems to want to stage the VM first, which takes a huge amount of time.

Apologies if I have not supplied enough information, I am happy to post anything else that is needed to help diagnose this issue.