cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup Exec Alert: Device Error: The drive hardware is offline

backupnoob
Level 3

Hi all,

Please help

Keep getting this error msg "the drive hardware is offline" during the backup. Even we try to manual enable the tape drive it still will go offline. The only way to make the tape drive online is to reboot the server. We have tried disable all HP insight services don't seem to solve the the issue.

Our server is running on Windows 2008 R2 64bit and Symantec BE12.5.  many thks

 

 

 

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

CraigV
Moderator
Moderator
Partner    VIP    Accredited

This is new information. Lack of support on Windows Server 2008 R2 aside, you need to rule out hardware problems. Stop the BE services and run your vendor's diagnostic utility against the drive.

Any errors, replace the drive and try again.

Thanks!

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16

VJware
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified

BE 12.5 does not Win 2008 R2 as media server.

pkh
Moderator
Moderator
   VIP    Certified
You cannot use Server 2008 R2 as a media server for BE 12.5. It is not supported. You need to upgrade to a newer version of BE. The upgrade is free if you are on a current maintenance contract

CraigV
Moderator
Moderator
Partner    VIP    Accredited

Upgrade to BE 15 (you have to do a multi-step upgrade: BE 2010 R3 w/SP4 and then on to BE 15) as this is supported for Windows Sevrer 2008 R2.

You can get the BE 2010 R3 ISP below:

http://trialware.norton.com/files/fc/Backup_Exec_2010_13.0.5204_MultiPlatforms_Multilingual_DVD.iso

Stop the BE services, grab manual copies of the Data/Catalogs folders and then run the upgrade. Install BE 2010 R3 SP4 from liveUpdate, and then download BE 15 and upgrade to this.

Then check again...

Thanks! 

backupnoob
Level 3

But i'm able to run the backup job just that intermittent will have this tape drive is offline issue.

I also see people posted that

Windows 2008 R2 is partially supported with Backup Exec 12.5 which means you can backup only File System, System State, Shadow Copy Components from Windows 2008 R2 server.

Here the link:

http://www.symantec.com/connect/forums/backup-exec-125-agent-windows-2008-server-r2


So backing any applications like Exchange and SQL will not be supported.
Backup Exec 2010 and Backup Exec 2010 R2 completely supports Windows 2008 R2 server. To download and install Backup Exec 2010 you can visit  www.backupexec.com

 

 

CraigV
Moderator
Moderator
Partner    VIP    Accredited

...that is the remote agent, not the media server installation where it is not supported at all.

CraigV
Moderator
Moderator
Partner    VIP    Accredited

Here is a link to the SCL. Check the media server compatibility section and you will see Windows Server 2008 R2 is not listed as a supported OS for the media server installaiton.

https://www.veritas.com/support/en_US/article.TECH62301

backupnoob
Level 3

Ok but previously the BE12.5 we are running on Windows Server 2008 we also facing the same issue.

CraigV
Moderator
Moderator
Partner    VIP    Accredited

This is new information. Lack of support on Windows Server 2008 R2 aside, you need to rule out hardware problems. Stop the BE services and run your vendor's diagnostic utility against the drive.

Any errors, replace the drive and try again.

Thanks!

pkh
Moderator
Moderator
   VIP    Certified
If you had a support contract then you could have log a support case and Symantec will solve the problem for you. Now, even if you have a support contract, you would not be able to log a support case.

Larry_Fine
Level 6
   VIP   

When did this problem start?  How long has this environment been running without error?

To get more information about WHY the drive went offline, check the adamm.log file.  Post it here and we will help you decipher it.

You may also need to use the tape vendor diagnostic tools.  What is your tape hardware environment details?

backupnoob
Level 3

These are the error log when the tape drive go offline

(1st error log)

Adamm Mover Error: DeviceIo: 03:07:00:00 - Refresh handle on "\\.\Tape0", SCSI cmd 00, new handle 6a8, error 0

%2

%3

%4

%5

%6

%7

%8

 

(2nd error log)

Adamm Mover Error: DeviceIo: 00:00:00:00 - Retry Logic: Original settings restored on device: HP Ultrium 4-SCSI

%2

%3

%4

%5

%6

%7

%8

(3rd error log) (where the tapedrive will go offline)

Backup Exec Alert: Device Error

(Server: "xxxxxxxx") The drive hardware is offline.

Please confirm that the drive hardware is powered on and properly cabled.

For more information, click the following link:

http://eventlookup.veritas.com/eventlookup/EventLookup.jhtml

 

the problem is intermittent sometime it can complete all jobs without having the tape drive going offline  

pkh
Moderator
Moderator
   VIP    Certified

You should use a supported configuration.  Even if you solve this problem, how do you know that everything is o.k.?  At worst, you can find yourself in a situation where you are unable to recover your server with your backup.  Is that what you and your company want, a worthless backup?

backupnoob
Level 3

Hi PKH, the problem is still not solve yet we are still sourcing for help to prevent the tape drive going offline.

CraigV
Moderator
Moderator
Partner    VIP    Accredited

BE 12.5 does NOT support Windows Server 2008 R2 as a media server. You cannot install BE 12.5 on it and expect it to work.

Upgrade to a supported version of BE (preferably BE 15 with FP1) and check. If this doesn't fix it, come back here again. I've mentioned this a few times re. the support aspect.

Have you tried to stop the BE services and then run the HP Library and Tape Tools against the drive to rule out hardware issues? If not, do so. If this passes, it again comes down to your OS not being supported to have BE 12.5 installed on it.

Thanks!

backupnoob
Level 3
Hi, Would like to check is there a way to run the job by command. Because we have set a script to stop start the service if detected media server went off line but somehow those job that failed during the media offline does not rerun by itself. We have tried set a error handling for job that failed but it don't seem to be working after stop start the services. Any advice on this thks

CraigV
Moderator
Moderator
Partner    VIP    Accredited

Check the command line guide below and see if you can script it:

https://www.veritas.com/support/en_US/article.DOC4444