cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup Exec Console and Reporting?

LUACE
Level 2
Hi, I am new to Symantec and a new sys admin for a company that has Backup exec 9x & 10x for 35 sites. As the new replacement sys admin I now have to mange backups for all the sites, and upgrading or changing our current backup infrastructure is simply not an option right now.  I am hoping someone can tell me how you are currently managing jobs for multiple sites? Does Symantec offer a Console or reporting mechanism to capture back up status for each site without having to log on to each server or set up email notifications? Thanks in advance and I apologize for the rookie question.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited
Hi LUACE,

I am not too sure about BE 9.x and 10x, but from 11D upwards, BE shipped with CASO...Central Administration Server Option.
This allows for either:

1. Centralised management of your jobs. You can create jobs, initiate jobs, delete jobs etc. from 1 server that manages other servers (Managed Media Servers). Databases can either be centralised on the CASO, or shared (if an MMS has a database problem, the CASO has a copy so you can copy it over if need be). You can use this option with fast bandwidth sites.
2. Centralised reporting (which is kind of what I use it for, where my media servers do their own thing, and I can see from the CASO server what's going on.). Databases are left on the media servers, and they send job logs when they complete a job. You'd ideally use this option with slow bandwidth sites.

So, I don't use CASO to it's fullest extent, and that's because we have sites in Africa and Asia with slow links. 11D was unstable, 12.5 (pre-SP2) was a bit better. Since putting on Service Pack 2, I've re-run this test in our environment, and so far so good.