cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup Exec Management Services crash

zak2011
Level 6

Hi,

I am not sure what happened, but when i logged in to the Backup Exec server to check the status of the weekly jobs, I saw that the Backup Exec management service had come to a halt along with Backup Remote agent for Windows. This resulted in almost all the jobs failing.

I got alerts from Library expansion violation ( which previously i have already confirmed with Symantec and they have told me there is no problem with the licensing and that i have the proper license installed) , from some jobs failing with alerts saying 'The job failed with the following error: An error occurred when the Backup Exec Job Engine Service attempted to communicate with the Backup Exec Device & Media Service. Try restarting all of the Backup Exec services, and then retry this job' and some jobs saying '  The job failed with the following error: Catastrophic failure'

I am a bit lost as to where i have start troubleshooting as according to my thoughts, this has happened from the Backup services crashing and coming to a stop.

Please advice!

 

 

6 REPLIES 6

pkh
Moderator
Moderator
   VIP    Certified

I believe that you have two tape drives in your library.  You would need to buy an additional LEO licence for the second tape drive to work.

zak2011
Level 6

Previously when BE2012 was installed i received this message a couple of months ago. I contacted Symantec customer support and they told me we have purchased the required licenses for both tape drives and that i need to contact Symantec Technical support as it was some error within Backup Exec database. I contacted Symantec Techinal support and they said since the product was quite new, they were faced with some challenges and they advised to do an update for Backup Exec and to continue working. This is response i have received from Symantec customer support as well from Symantec Technical support last time.

Thanks!

pkh
Moderator
Moderator
   VIP    Certified

The question is: Do you have another LEO licence?  The licencing terms are quite clear in that for any additional tape drive in your library, you need a LEO licence.  See the licencing guide below

2012 Portfolio Licensing Guide

zak2011
Level 6

Yes we have another LEO license and according to Symantec all licenses are in place but then why does the error show up is what i am confused about.

pkh
Moderator
Moderator
   VIP    Certified

If you have another LEO licence, then you should log a formal support case to get your problem resolved.

zak2011
Level 6

Logged a case with technical support. They said the network card on the Backup server may be having too much traffic during the weekend when the weekly jobs run and suggested to change the network card setting  ' Large send offload packet(IPV4)'to disable. Also they said to enable debug logging for the Backup Exec device and mangement service.