cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup Exec Not Recognizing Tape Media

monkdan
Level 2

I'm new to Backup Exec and am having trouble getting our backups working. We use NDMP to backup NetApp to a robotic tape library. Under the Media Properties of the tape drive it states "There is no media in the drive." When I try to run a job it gets stuck on "Active: Queued - Backup Scan" This is on Backup Exec 20.5. 

I've tried restarting the tape library and server, manually loading tapes to the drive, adjusting the overwrite protection, and inventories are completed succussfully.

Any suggestions?

7 REPLIES 7

Larry_Fine
   VIP   

Do not manually load media into the tape drive.  That is the job of Backup Exec to move media as needed.  If the tape drive is idle, it should say "no media in drive".

I would suggest turning off the backup scan.  Since you can run an inventory job successfully, it sounds like Backup Exec and the library are working OK.  So I would focus on the backup job that is stuck queued.  Is there more than one job that gets stuck in a queued state?

I have turned off the backup scan and it still get stuck. There are multiple different backup jobs that all have the same problem

Larry_Fine
   VIP   

Is this impacting ALL jobs from the NDMP server?

Is this impacting ALL jobs using the tape library?

Do you have any jobs that target anything other than the tape library?

The goal is to determine if the issue is related to the NDMP system or the tape library system.  The best way to do that may be a test job that you can change source and target easily to see where the problem lies.

We use a single NDMP server and a single tape library on this system so yes it is impacting all jobs. It would take some time to configure it otherwise, but it may come to that.