cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup Exec vrs. Remote Agent

garry_m
Level 3
 Hi,

I have two servers: Server A is the bdc, Exchange 5.5 and print server, and Server B is the pdc and file server.  I need to backup Exchange mailboxes (server A) and files (server B).  I found veritas installed on Server A, and have an extra license to install it on Server B.  Server A doesn't have any tape device.  Server B has a 110 DLT VS 80 (Dell), but I haven't installed Veritas on it.  I don't know what to do, because I need to backup Exchange mailboxes from server A using the tape device of server B, and I also need to backup files from server B on its own tape device.  I have 2 licenses for Veritas, so it is not a trouble of licensing, but I'm new at using it, and do not know what to do... please give me some hints about what to install on which server...

Garry
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

shirmal
Level 5
 hi Garry,

Here's what I suggest you doing:

- make your ServerB as the backup/media server
- make your ServerA as the backup client

you will then need to do the following:
ServerB:

- install BackupExec Server (licensed) with following option licenses:
    1) Remote Agent
    2) Agent for MSExchange
    3) Open File Option (if you think necessary)
  - also, make sure you have the appropriate Veritas driver for your DLT device.
  - install MSExchange5.5 Admin or MSExchange2000 System Manager

SeverA:

- install BackupExec Remote Agent

then create the backup jobs on ServerB.
and i recommend you put the latest patches/fixes for all installs.
and also see if your DLT drive (which, from my understanding, is just a single drive) can accommodate your backup volume - otherwise, you may need to keep inserting blank media - which is hard if you run your backups overnight

hope this answers your question.

---cheers

shirmal

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

shirmal
Level 5
 hi Garry,

Here's what I suggest you doing: