cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup Recommendations Required

Fisgard_Sonny
Level 2

Hi there, I'm a total rookie and conifugring and setting up backups and backup configurations and I'm looking for some help. Oh i should mention we curently have Backup Exec 2012.

Is there anything or anyone out there that can give recommedations based on what pr company currently uses in reagrds to servers we have (Exchange, AD's, SQL, etc), the amount of space we currently use, users etc?

I guess what I'm looking for is a solution to tell me what I need to be doing and what steps I need to take to make sure I am looking after everything.

Also to recommend that I use tape or disk or cloud, that I need 2, 4, or 8 TB of space based on my current files being backed up.

I there anything or anyone out there that offers this?

Thanks to everyone that reads this as well,

Clueless

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited

1. The file server would work perfectly as a media server. Actually any server. I've used media servers on servers running Exchange/DC/file and print (all-in-one) and dedicated servers (ProLiant DL165 G5 - Virtual Center servers) and didn't have any performance issues as the backups ran from 6PM each night. So it is doable on this server.

2. If the VOIP server doesn't have an application like SQL etc, you can get the Remote Agent for Windows Servers to back it up.

3. You need to consider how long you want to hold your data for. We used tapes on the sites I looked after as we could retain data for longer. Some sites were backing up 650GB per night (Exchange, DC, file and print, SQL) and an LTO4 tape worked well. You need to do the math to see what is best for you. Disk is cheap, but you'd need a lot of it if you're backing up almost 1TB of data each night and you want to retain it for long.

4. http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=HOWTO22927