cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup exec GFS rotation with a tape library.

ajcc22
Level 4

Ok, im new to this...

Situation:

Tanberg 22 slot tape library and 2 tape drives.

Backup exec 2010 r3 sp1

How do i set the backup so that i can get it to do GFS rotation and select the correct tape from the correct slot in the library.

I have never used this product before and therefore have no idea where to start. I have managed to get the backup to do a full backup of all the servers and network drives, do a restore from this backup and it all seems to work fine. However i dont know where to start with setting up a GFS rotation.

Alan.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

ajcc22
Level 4

cont.......or do i lets say have a slot partition of 8 slots, containing 8 tapes, 2 for each weekly full.

Have a job that rights the data to one tape and another job writing to another tape in that partition.

Having the overwrite set to 1 week and appent to one day, the system should choose the next two tapes the following week, so during 4 weeks the system should have gone throught all the tape in the slot partition.

Is that correct.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited

Hi,

You'd create a selection list...preferably seperate DBs and data from each other. This allows you to use AOFO with data, and to back up DBs without it.

You can consider partitioning your library into 3 seperate partitions. Some people advocate allowing your media sets to manage which tapes are used, but I like partitioning as it is both a logical, and physical way of splitting the library up.

Next you'd create a GFS job which allows you to specific the name, media set (whether existing or new) and time of the backup etc. At the end of this process it asks for a selection list.

Lastly, get a hold of the Admin Guide...it's got a lot more information and information.

Read the articles below for further info: