cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup exec server unable to link to remote agent for linux

usersky
Level 4

I have installed symantenc back exec for window server on window server platform (A).

And install remote agent for linux on another linux server(B).

Installation goes smoothly, all the servers able under same domain and same gateway.

My main problem is that under the backup exec media server(A) on the unix icon I unable to link to server(B). No folder being seem.

Kindly enlighten me how to establish the link between agent and backup exec media server together.

Is it the license issue or need additional plug-in application?

This is my first time installing.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

tech29
Level 6
Hi There,

I will recommend to get the RALUS for 12.0 instead of upgrading your BE server to 12.5, because if you upgrade your BE from 12.0 to 12.5 then you will again need to get all the license keys for BE 12.5. The license keys which you currently have are for BE 12.0 and would not work with BE 12.5.

So install RALUS 12.0 and let me know if that works.

Regards,
tech29

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12

tech29
Level 6

what version of Backup exec are you using? 

SystemsAdminAS
Level 5

usersky,

You will at least need a valid license for a RALUS agent installed on the BE server (which may be the issue).  Also, you may need to update the Linux agent to match hotfixes you may have applied to your BE server.

I'm actually having the same issue as you - my Ubuntu 9.10 box is running an updated RALUS agent alongside Windows Server 2003 R2 x86 with BE 12.5 installed and patched.  I can't get the folder tree for the Linux box to populate in a selection list due to 'access denied' errors for the authentication account, which I'm using root.

usersky
Level 4

i using 12.5.

Is it need to enter the key for RALUS onto the backup exec media server?

tech29
Level 6