cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BackupExec 12.1.6 not using entire tape

BackupExec12
Level 0

Support,

This has been an on-going theme with this product for years. Not a criticism but an observation. I am a Commvault guy by trade. However, this piece of software, BE12, I have worked for in previous iterations years ago. My primary issue isn't necessarily the performance of the product. It works fine for my client. We backup about 7TB of data each week successfully.

However, I have read numerous posts about the dogon Append and I have to agree that it just does not work properly. I have configured AppAsuure, Commvault and other backup problems the exact same way in terms of retention and appendable and had no issues. I use the same setup with BE12 and it writes half the tape over the weekend and ejects it.

The answer in the posts always says to apply it to a media set. I did so. The media set I created has a 4 week retention with a 14 day append. No luck. Again, our backups are running fine but it makes no sense to half fill a 2.5TB piece of media only half way. Every weekend I have one last job waiting on media while BE12 refuses to utilize the available space.

Clearly I am missing something here. This isn't rocket science by any stretch. How do I address this issue so that BE12 functions properly?

2 REPLIES 2

Larry_Fine
   VIP   

When BE ejects a tape before you think that it should, what does it show for the append time in the properties of that cartridge?  If it says "media full" (or something close to that, I don't remember BE 12 very much), then it is probably not a BE issue. I haven't had any trouble getting tapes to fill up over the years.

What kind of tape drive and what generation of media are you using?  I just want to make sure there isn't confusion about native vs compressed capacity.

Colin_Weaver
Employee Accredited Certified