cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BackupExec restore email archives keeps failing E000FE30 error

Adam10541
Level 2

I'm runing BEX 14.2 and continually having a communication error (e000fe30) when attempting to restore some email archives to a different location.

I'm a computer forensics analyst not a systems admin so my experience with this software is limited.

The setup is this;

• Standalone server running Windows Svr 2003 R2
  • SCSI LTO 4 tape drive attached
  • Restoring from LTO2 tape

The tape can be inventoried and catalogued just fine, I can restore other data types from the tape with no issues, it's only these emails that won't be restored.

I'm using the following options:

• Restore to different location with 'localhost' and 'system login' selected (the system login has been tested and shown to work)
  • I have tried restoring to the C drive and also to an attached ext USB hard drive with no success.

Weird thing is in one instance the restore actually started, I think BEX was showing something like 'staging data' and I noticed that the C:/Temp folder had an EDB file being created, however the software hung at 29GB and I had to kill BEX and restart it. Since then I have had no other indications of getting the process to work.

I have also tried changing the log in credentials used to 'administrator' with the correct password and this made no difference. I can verify the data set with BEX and navigate all the way down to individual mailboxes so I know the data can be read, but restoring it anywhere is not working.

Any help or idea's much appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

PRAVEENCRIC
Level 3

In order to bypass the stagging you can duplicate the data to External disk storage (NTFS ) volume and try performing restore, 

Exchange restore needs permissions, confirm if the permissions are given  https://www.veritas.com/support/en_US/article.TECH184449