cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can legato and backup exec be installed on the same server?

rebelscum
Level 2
Ok, bear with me a here, as I am fairly new to backing up data to this extent.
I have 8-10 servers that I want to backup with approx 2TB of data.
I currently have a server with Legato installed, but the ony guy who knew anything about this software has left the company.

What I want to backup

1x file/print
1x DC (would like AD recovery options)
1x Exchange 2003
1x Exchange 2007 (both exchange boxes need to have mailbox recovery)
5x application servers (non sql, non oracle)

I have a tape device pool of 2 Ultrium LTO2 drives, currently we have legato installed and the only guy that knew anything about legato software has suddenly left the company (nothing documented) and the only backup software the rest of the team have in depth knowledge of is backup exec, its used at pretty much all our remote sites (circa 15) where they just back up the onsite file/print servers, but we have a 6 year data restore policy for financial reasons (being the EMEA region head office), so I dont want to drop legato altogether from the situation so we can if required restore any legacy data.

I have been given clearance to buy Backup Exec should I wish to, but overall I wanted to check the following.

1.      Can I have Legato and Backup Exec installed on the same server without any concerns?
2.      I dont want to have to buy new tapes if I dont need to so can the old legato tapes be used in a new backup exec setup
3.      what is the most cost effective backup exec solution (as I dont see the point in training everyone up in legato if we all know backup exec)

Thanks
Rich
5 REPLIES 5

Hemant_Jain
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified

Answers:
1. Yes, you can have them installed. But stop the legato services, otherwise BE might have issues with device connectivity.