cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't see tape statistics

backupnewb
Level 3

Hello Guys, I am new to backup exec and backup job as well, I am apologising in advance for my dumb questions.

I've got 3 questions.

We have a tape library HP MSL4048, I inserted a tape from oct 2015. When I go to backup exec, the tape's status is scratch media and I moved it to daily media set. the problem is, the statistics of the tape isn't showing.

second one is, in sources->resource credentials, I clicked test all, and some of the test results are returning "A communication failure has occured", I'm assuming it can't communicate to the resource provided, should I change or remove it?

last one, "Please insert overwritable media into the drive.", media is inside the tape library. 

15 REPLIES 15

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited

Hi,

1. The tape is in Scratch media hence no statistics. BE only holds catalogs for 90 days as a default and you'd probably need to Catalog the tape to see what's on it.

2. Test credentials aren't always an indication of a backup not succeeding. That said, make sure that port 10000 is open on any firewall running on the servers concerned, as well as making sure any AV installed isn't perhaps blocking the beremote.exe service from running properly.

3. You get this message when BE cannot append to, or write to a tape. With the MSL4048 you'd need to define a mailslot if you want to import tapes, assuming you don't have useable tapes in the library. At the end of the day ensure you have tapes available for backups to run properly, and check the Append/OPP settings of your media sets to make sure they're correct too.

Thanks!

backupnewb
Level 3

Thank you for the quick reponse.

For 1, I run catalog on the tapes but it's showing device paused. 

For 3, it this setting normal? 

overwrite.PNG

Thanks

pkh
   VIP    Certified