cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Certain Volume failing on Backup Job Error Code = e0008445

savagej3
Level 3

I have a rather large backup job that goes through multiple servers and does incremental backups every night. I have a file server with 6 drives. Every drive backs up successfully except the last one. It fails every night on this drive. Here is the error I see:

e0008445 - The media operation was terminated by the user.

I am fairly new to Backup Exec taking over an environment from someone else, so I may be looking in the wrong places for clues, but this is the only error I can seem to find. Maybe I am looking in the wrong place for errors/logs?

The only other thing I see is under details for that servers backup, it shows backup status as "Canceled" for the last drive while the other drives that are backing up correctly say Backed up. 

Thanks for any help!

12 REPLIES 12

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited

Check the TN below and see if it helps you at all:

https://www.veritas.com/support/en_US/article.TECH36822

Thanks!

savagej3
Level 3

I think you may be on to something with job being canceled after a time limit. I cannot seem to find the menus that this article points to however. Where are the  Priority and Availability settings located in Backup Exec 2014 Ver 14.1?

Thanks

savagej3
Level 3

Figured it out! Schedule was causing it to fail. Changed some things and will test over the week. 

savagej3
Level 3

Spoke to soon. It still failed. This time it ran 10 hours instead of 8 and it still backed up the same amount of data but failed after 10 hours. 

Looks like it hangs once it gets to a certain Drive on one of my file servers, then backs up nothing after that. Just hangs there until it hits the 10 hour limit.

Any ideas? Only thing I can see is it mentions something about files in use. 

pkh
   VIP    Certified
Did you enable AOF for your job? If not, do so

savagej3
Level 3