cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Database Maintenance & Delete Aged Data

Normandy
Level 3

I have a question regarding a setting under options in Backup Exec called Delete aged data.  By default this option is enabled, my question: Shouldn't this option be disabled?  If the aged data is deleted doesn't that mean Backup Exec can only restore files that aren't over 90 days old?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

VJware
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified

"If the aged data is deleted doesn't that mean Backup Exec can only restore files that aren't over 90 days old?"

Nopes, not true....The aged data which is deleted is the job history and not the actual data itself

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

CraigV
Moderator
Moderator
Partner    VIP    Accredited

Hi,

If it is disabled it wouldn't run the deletion job. It would mean the BEDB would grow in that regard and you'd have to set this up afterwards. To my knowledge, if you disable it now, and re-enable it in a year's time to delete aged data after 90 days, it only does this going-forward...not with past data. End result is a BEDB that could grow to be quite large.

Thanks!

VJware
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified

"If the aged data is deleted doesn't that mean Backup Exec can only restore files that aren't over 90 days old?"

Nopes, not true....The aged data which is deleted is the job history and not the actual data itself

Normandy
Level 3

Okay, glad to know it doesn't delete the list of when data was backed up (View by Resource) in the restore job.