cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Errors connecting to the database after SP1 and all recent hotfixes applied

E_S_L
Level 3

Greetings,

I have been running BE12 straight from the box just fine for a few months.  The other day I did a live update and installed SP1 and about 12 hotfixes/updates.  Ever since then I have been having problems and have been receiving the error messages listed below.

BE12 is installed on its own W2k3 SP2 32bit Enterprise server.  The db backend is installed in its own instance in a SQL 2005 cluster running W2k3 SP2 32bit Enterprise, whose disks eventually reside on a FC SAN.

The first error pops up randomly several minutes after I open the GUI:

"The connection to the backup Exec database has been lost.  Make sure that network cables are properly attached and plugged in, and that services are running for the SQL Server instance on which the Backup Exec database is installed"

After that, it asks me for the password to log in, and it lists the services as running.  Sometimes this will let me in, and sometimes I get an "Access denied" error

In the event viewer, I get the following entries:

Event # 57345:

Database Exception Context:CBESession::CreateDBCmd Error:4313:Unable to read from or write to the database.
 :: -2147467259:[DBNETLIB][ConnectionOpen (Connect()).]SQL Server does not exist or access denied. :: DB Error Set 0: native=0x11 source=Microsoft OLE DB Provider for SQL Server hr=0x80004005 [DBNETLIB][ConnectionOpen (Connect()).]SQL Server does not exist or access denied. 

Event # 57345:

BeServer lost connection to the database.  Some operations may not work properly

Event # 57345:

Database Exception Context:_OpenDataStore: Initialize Error:4313:Unable to read from or write to the database.