cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Exchange 2007 GRT Catalog Operation Slow

CabarrusHealth
Level 3

The backup job size is 184GB and takes around 8 hours to complete (386.02 MB/min) . The catalog job is the same speed but the size is 320GB or in the case of the current job it is 371GB and growing and has been running for over 24hours.

We have a 5 year old Dell PowerEdge 1850 (Media Server) with network team of two 1Gbps connected to the same switch as a HP D2D StorageWorks Backup System model D2D2503i that is also teamed with a LACP trunk.

Im new to Backup Exec 2012 and i don't recall Backup Exec 2010 creating a seperate backup job and a seperate catalog job for GRT backups?.

Our email server is at a seperate site from the PowerEdge and HP D2D via 100Mbps circuit, but I am not sure if the catalog processing is done locally?

Unfortunately I don't have a great baseline of speed to know if 386.02 MB/min is even that good, as to me it seems pretty slow?

Why is the size of the catalog job so big?

If these questions can be answered and any additional help offered, we would really appreciate it.

Thanks

13 REPLIES 13

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited

Hi,

BE 2012 SP1a is out, so your first port of call is to update to that.

Once done, reboot your media server and try the backup again. Check your AV and make sure that it isn't actively scanning the BE services, and if so, put in exclusions for them.

BE 2012 has changed the way backups are run, and I think that your situation where you have 2 jobs is by design.

Thanks!

Sagar_Walambe
Level 4
Employee

Are the transaction log size too large? You can try running a Non-GRT backup of Exchange to flush the transaction logs before re-running the Exchange 2007 GRT job.

http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH182919

Hope this will Help!

CabarrusHealth
Level 3