cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Final error: 0xe000821e - Library error - incompatible storage media detected in robotic library

SC2317
Level 3

Hi,

I am new to symantec backup exec and don't have good knowledge on this product. We are using Symantec Backup Exec 15. Recently we got LTO7 M8 tapes and inserted in Powervault TL2000 tape library that is currently being used by backup software to backup data on LTO6 tapes.

However, after inserting these LTO7 tapes and running inventory on Backup Exec it shows unrecognised. I have also configured barcode rule for LTO7 tapes with suffix "M8" as label ends with M8. I lalso ogged in to TL2000 console and it  shows incompatible.

Can someone please help in resolving this issue?

8 REPLIES 8

PJ_Backup
Employee

If you have an LTO6 tape drive it won't be able to read (or write) LTO7 tapes. Generally LTO can read two generations back and write one generation back, but no generations forward.

This table hopefully makes it clearer:

https://www.tandbergdata.com/us/index.cfm/support/compatibility/tape-drive-media-compability-matrix/

Thanks for the update. Sorry, may be I did not understand this correctly because I don't have much experience on tapes. However, Can you please suggest how do I see whether my library has LTO6 tape drives ? I think Powervault TL2000 supports LTO7 tapes, so why does it not support writing/reading on it?

PJ_Backup
Employee

I would suggest either checking in Device Manager in Windows:

(right click on Windows button - Computer Management - Device Manager - Tape Drives) might have specific details about the LTO generation, or alternatively check the Backup Exec adamm.log: