cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Format media in Backup Exec 2010 R2

Tom_Jacob_Chira
Level 3

Hi,

I had installed Symantec Backup Exec in our environment. Needless to say, I am new to Backup Exec. After inserting the media, and running the inventory, the media was detected by Backup Exec. But, I could notice that only the option 'Erase, quick erase' is available to me, and that the 'Format' option seems to be grayed out. I tried doing the same thing by associating the media with different media set. Like 'Scratch Set' etc. I tried creating a new media set, allowing to append, and protection is set to 0 days.

After running a backup successfully, and if the same tape is inserted again, the option to quick erase will also disappear. Then, the option to quick erase will also become unavailable. Can some one guide me how I should proceed? The idea is that, I need to use a separate tape for each week, in which a full backup will be taken on the first day of the week, and incremental on the following days. The Same tape will be used at the beginning of the next month. Hence, the tape should be reusable. The tape drive which I use is 'Quantum Ultrium LTO'.

Also, I had installed the Agent for Exchange on one of the machine. The product has been updated using the Live update, to Symantec Backup Exec 2010 SP1. The agents in the client machines needs to be updated manually. The agents in all the other client machines were automatically updated from the server itself, though the process was initiated manually. But, the agent in the exchange server could not be udpated from the media server. Any help or guidance regarding these is highly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Tom

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited

Hi,