cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Full + incremental sets not being groomed by DLM

M_Strong
Level 4

Good Day,

I'm encountering an issue with Full + Incremental backup sets not being groomed properly.  I understand the logic behind DLM and I've been using BE for over 10 years.  Typically focus on full backups only, however due to infrastructure size and storage constraints during a growth spurt for the company, we were forced to implement a weekly Full + Daily Incremental backup strategy for our Exchange server:  Full runs every Sunday and Incrementals run Monday - Friday.  Every individual backup job is B2D2T (Backup to Disk and Duplicated to Tape), so I have both the full and the week of following incrementals duplicated.  Using this strategy, I have enough B2D storage for about 2 weeks of history on-disk (not to mention the copies on tape that I rotate out) - 2 Full and 10 or so Incrementals.

With this strategy in mind, one would think that DLM would groom out the first Full and first week's worth of Incrementals after the second Full backup is performed successfully, verified and duplicated to tape.  This, however is not occurring.  The B2D targets are filled up with 2 weekly Full backups + 2 weeks (10+ days) of Incermentals and when week 3 begins and the 3rd Full backup begins to run, it hangs with storage errors stating that there is not enough disk space available.  I have tried manually expiring the oldest set of backups (The first Full and first weeks of Incrementals), however BE still does not groom the files.  So, I am forced to perform a hard delete on the older backup sets and snapshot folders, (which allows the week 3 backup to continue/complete), then perform an Inventory/Catalog on the B2D volume which removes the older (already deleted) backup sets from the Storage > Backup Sets view in the BE GUI.