cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help! Newbie ready for first backup session...

JerryL
Level 3
Hi all –

I’m brand new to Backup Exec and about ready for my first major session.  Running this on XP Pro, with a Sony 81b autoloader (using 400 gig carts).

I have approximately 1500 gig of files I hope to backup to tape.  These span approximately 10 different external drives, 5 of which are on a separate machine on the network and shared out to the machine hosting the autoloader.

The software appears to be properly installed and working.  A 400 gig test session was recorded and verified without issue.

Files to be backed up are all data outside the OS; no files that are open (i.e. these are all various photography projects).

Some fundamental questions…

1. Can the above scenario, with files on many different drives, be backed up in one recording session?
  2. Is having about half of the files on network shares an issue?
  3. Assuming this scenario works, is there a way to have Backup Exec create two sets of backup tapes (the autoloader can hold a total of 8 400 gig carts, so this is large enough even w/o compression)
  4. Are there any best practices recommended for this scenario
  5. Are there any suggestions for how to simply label the tapes prior to the session so I know how to keep them straight later on (especially if I’m able to have BE create two sets in one recording session).
  6. What if the session is interrupted before it’s complete (realizing this will take a few days to run)?
  7. What other things should I be aware of before launching into this?
Many thanks in advance for your help!

Message Edited by JerryL on 07-25-200712:30 AM

8 REPLIES 8

JerryL
Level 3
Hi -

Just a bump, as I have all the disks and data ready for my first backup session, but need to find out if this scenario will work.

Thanks!

Ken_Putnam
Level 6