Highlighted

How long is job history kept

How long is job history or how many job are retained in the job monitor?

Can that be changed?

 

6 Replies

Yes.  These settings can be

Yes.  These settings can be changed.  Go to Tools ---> Options -----> Database Maintenance and you would be able to see the settings and change them.

Thanks, found it. Our job

Thanks, found it.

Our job list is quite huge.  Can the job list be archived or exported?

...you can copy the catalogs

...you can copy the catalogs elsewhere before deleting them manually. This just means that if you want to restore data from a tape with a deleted catalog, that you either need to copy it back to the Catalogs folder, or recatalog the tape.

Making that change suggested though only affects catalogs going forward...it is not a retrospective change (ie. doesn't delete old existing catalog files).

Thanks!

Here is a document on

Here is a document on changing the location of catalogs http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=TECH29603

 

Beware that joblogs and

Beware that joblogs and catalogs are two different things.  Joblogs contains information regarding how the job was run, status, error messages, etc.  Catalogs contains information about the backup set, what resources are backed up, etc.

The joblogs cannot be archived or exported.  However, you can change the path where the joblogs are stored.  See this document

http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH50247

Re: Yes.  These settings can be

First question: Where is Tools?

Tags (2)