cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to - Backing up Hyper-V and VMware environments

Turls
Level 6

Are you are looking to find information on the most common tasks related to backing up Hyper-V  and VMware environments using Symantec Backup Exec 2012? Here are the two consolidated articles - Hyper-V and VMware that lists out:

- Top Knowledge Base articles
- Top Videos
- Top Getting Started Articles
- Top Troubleshooting Articles
- Symantec Backup Exec 2012 Administrator's Guide

Check them out!

12 REPLIES 12

roysbrew
Level 3

I have been able to do complete backups and restores of my hyper-v vms with Backup Exec 2012.  I can restor whole vms and vhds, but I cannot find where to restor a file or folder from within my vm backups?  What am I missing?  I have the grt on. 

hartsell
Level 3

I beleieve you need the agent installed on the VM?

darylliney70
Not applicable

Help!!!

I am new to Backup Exec as a result having problems backing up and ESXi environment.

Basically I am starting a job and have a problem with credentials (see below), I can access the actual ESXi server, however when I try to access the host using the expected credentials it fails.

Am I missing something?

Thanks in advance

Daryl 

ForemanNZ
Level 4

Wheres the tick box for VMware backups for skipping errors - I can't trust it at present, because it takes 12 hours to do a backup and has failed part way through in the past.

Drew_Meyer
Level 4
Employee Accredited

Support_team
Level 4

I read in the best practises for VMs article that you should create 2 jobs one with GRT and one without for SQL Dbases, Linux etc.

If I am backing up at Vcentre level, and new VMs are added automatically, how do I ensure they are added to the correct job?

Thanks

Loz

mrinal_sarkar62
Level 6

Hi Swathi,

I guess you may provide more links of the same topic. I have added one.

-Top Knowledge Base articles
- Top Videos
- Top Getting Started Articles