Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to move backup files to another disk

Dsheumaker
Level 3

BUE2010 R3 SP4 CASO environment

Windows Server 2008 R2 Datacenter Sp1

Heres what i have going on. We have a government contract that requires us to have a pretty strict retention policy, and becasue of this, it's creating drive space issues. WE are required to keep our yearly full backups /for 10+ years. I would like to move some of the olders yearlys to another drive, lets say a device like a buffalo NAS, to clear up space for our normal backups to run. Once we get enough space cleared up then we can complete noramlly or setup our yearly jobs to backup to this new device. 

Is it possible to move these old backup files through BUE so that if they ever needed to be restored BUE will not freak out when the job runs.

IM fairly new to BUE so if this is something already talked about please point me in the right direction, after some googling i did not see what i was looking for. Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited

Hi,

Don't copy them...rather create a duplicate job to duplicate the information to the other drive. If you don't do it this way, you're going to end up with data that can't be restored. read below:

http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=TECH24544

Thanks!

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited

Hi,

Don't copy them...rather create a duplicate job to duplicate the information to the other drive. If you don't do it this way, you're going to end up with data that can't be restored. read below:

http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=TECH24544

Thanks!

Dsheumaker
Level 3

So create a duplicate job for each server that i want to move the data. Can i move multiple years worth of backups in one job? Also how to delete the data once the move is complete?

pkh
   VIP    Certified