cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to use a mid-backup hard drive properly?

spyrule
Level 2

Hello,

First off, I am not a Symantec BackupExec expert... nor even a backup expert at all for that matter.  But I've got 15 years experience working with servers, so I am technically competent.  On that note...

I am running Backup Exec 2010 R2 and we use External USB Hard drives to backup to for the time being (we have a full datacenter being built, but that's going to take 6 months to stand up).

We started backing up directly to USB hard drives, but we found some of the larger backups taking so long, they we're interfering with the next days backup schedule.  So, I setup the server with an internal 1TB drive as a "in-between" drive to perform backups too.

The problem is that I am now running out of space on the 1TB, despite me having setup Duplication from the internal 1TB to the external 1TB.  It seems as though most of the duplication isn't occuring, but the internal 1TB is filling up, and not "clearing" out older backups.

Can someone point me on the proper method on how to setup Backup Exec to do the following :

1) Backup to an internal Permanent Hard drive

2) "copy" or duplicate the completed backup to an external Hard drive (we cycle through an external hard drive every two weeks), and verify the backup is good.

3) Clear out the Internal Permanent Hard drive to make room for the next days backup cycle.

Any help, pointers or suggestion are welcome.

Spyrule.

7 REPLIES 7

VJware
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified

Create Backup To Disk (B2D) folders on your pemanent hard drive for backups..

Set appropriate overwrite protection period & append protection periods (OPP and APP) for retention periods..

Set up duplicate jobs which would duplicate existing backup sets to external drive

EDIT**

Few KB articles for your reference:

http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH164267

http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH24544

spyrule
Level 2