cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I'm use to NetBackUp, how do you set retention period on backup?

Michael_Pietrza
Level 3
Hi there everyone,

I have been using NetBackUp for about five years and became very proficient in it's use. I recently started another job and they are using BackUpExec 10.

It seems that the two products are VERY different and it has been very confusing trying to figure out the in's and out's of this product.

On NetBackUp, I enjoyed the fact that for each backup policy (backup job), I could assign a retention period to both the fulls and the incrementals.

It seems here that BackUpExec assigns media overrides and appends to media and gives no real way to expire backup files themselves?!?!

Can anyone help me in explaining to me how I can create my backup jobs to backup to disk and expire after a given period of time. In backing up to disk, I want only one backup file per job. Meaning, I want to try and make Mondays backup one file, Tuesdays backup one file etc.

I also want to set an expiration date for each of those backups so I know when they will be removed from the storage media.

Thanks in advanced if anyone can help me. I truly appreciate it!

Michael
San Diego State University
2 REPLIES 2

ray_littlefie1
Level 6
Yeah, I miss Netbackup some days.

Backup Exec does not have the capability to expire media and the catalog entries. Instead, you must manipulate the append/overwrite behavior of the backup jobs using specified media sets (media sets = retention time), in conjunction to using recyclable media vs. scrach media so that you media gets overwritten, as opposed to expiring at the desired time.

This is a good document relating to the overall behavior:
http://seer.support.veritas.com/docs/192265.htm

So, in regards to your question, you can set the B2D file size by right clicking on the folder within the Devices tab, and choosing Properties -> Configuration and choosing the Maximum size.