cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Incremental Backups not Running until Full backup is complete

Kanuto23
Level 2

Hello,

I am new with this BE backup system and need your professional advice.

We do our Full backups every Sunday and our Incremental backups from Monday - Saturday.
Our Full backups takes 3 to 4 days to complete (with verification) and the Incrementals do not
run until then.  So we are losing approximately 3-4 days worth of Incremental backups.

My question is, Is this how BE should work by design?  
What can we do to prevent this Incremental backup data loss?

Thanks in advance.

10 REPLIES 10

pkh
   VIP    Certified
This is the way all backup software work, not just BE. One way around this problem is to break up your backup job into smaller jobs so that they finish faster

Kanuto23
Level 2

Hi and thanks for taking time to give your advice.

Actually, our Full backups are already divided into 4 sets (4TB) each.
So, our 4TB data takes 3-4 days to complete, is that normal?

I have attached 1 backup set summary report for reference.

pkh
   VIP    Certified
The speed of backup is highly dependent on the environment. Things like CPU, disk speed, network, etc, ask play a part. You got to do some detective work to find out what is slowing down your backup. For example, running your jobs concurrently could result in resource contentions and slow things down. You might want to run your jobs one at a time to take a look. Turn off AV scanning and switch to modified time method

Chris2012
Level 4

@pkh

What is the best way for scheduling my backup if using incremental backups? Yesterday I modified my backups of an exchange server and now I've got the same problem like Kanuto23.