Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Incremental backup writing to full media

PaulFTRW
Level 2

I have an interesting question. I am also fairly new to Backup exec

Background:

I am doing incremental backups daily and full backups File servers on Saturdays and SQL Sundays. While the full backups are running I am doing incremental as well. I have 2 drives so this should not be an issue. I also just recently switch from LTO 4 to LTO 6. I am only using 2 tapes. 1 for the incremental and 1 for the fulls as the data cant fill one tape(LTO6). I have set media for full and incremental for tracking purposes.

Situation:

At some point late in the week Friday night or early Saturday I have an incremental backup that is changing my Full tape to incremental. Therefore killing all my full backups for the weekend. 

I have limited tapes so I want to keep my tapes to 2 a week. I have tried a different combination of setting for media and can not seem to get this to stop. 

Any Help is appreciated.

8 REPLIES 8

pkh
   VIP    Certified

1) Are these tape drives stand-alone tape drives or are they contained in a tape library?

2) Did you specify different media sets for your full and incremental backups?

3) Did you target your jobs to specific tape drives or to All Devices?

PaulFTRW
Level 2

1). The drives are in a Tape library

2). Yes

3). No I target them to specific media and use any available tape drive.

Colin_Weaver
Employee Accredited Certified

in your answer to 3 do you mean you partition the slots in library and target the partition or are you just stating you targetted a media set?