cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Job failing at the end when additional media required

MagPie_Wat
Level 2

Hi,

I'm new to my backup support role so apologies if I'm missing something basic here.  I'm after some helps or pointers please to a strange situation.

I have a backup job running on Backup Exec 2014 (SP2 installed).  The job itself takes over a week and the last time it ran I gave it 11 tapes to chew through as this is what it needed last time, however, this time the data had grown and an extra tape was required.  I inserted a brand new tape, scanned the slot, and the job continued.  The issue I have is that when it got to the end, the job failed with the error:

A communications failure has occurred

The connection to target system has been lost. Backup set canceled.

If the job will fit onto the tapes that I give it from the start then it doesn't fail, if it requires more then I get the failure, the same happened the last time it ran.

As I mentioned earlier, I'm just getting to grips with all of this so any help or pointers would be much appreciated.

7 REPLIES 7

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited

...do you have an import slot defined on the library? Simply putting a tape in and scanning the slot isn't good enough for BE. An import job is automated within BE and it allows the system to accurately scan the slot and use the tape.

Thanks!

Colin_Weaver
Employee Accredited Certified

This might be a "keep alive" settimg against the network environment. In the past we have seen issues like this where because the NDMP control port has almost no traffic during the data transfer phase that the network itself drops the connection on the Control Port but keeps the NDMP data connection open. Then when we get to the end we need try to use the original control port conversation and because it is no longer there, you receive a communication failure message.