cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Job using incorrect media set

Upinit
Level 3

I'm a BE 2010 newbie so be gentle. I'm having issues with a job that used to run fine now using incorrect media. Here is my setup for the issue I'm having:

• 2 tapes which are being used for Monday and Tuesday night differentials
  • 1 tape being used for DR pursposes run every Tuesday
  • 1 tape being used for catalog backup on Wednesday morning

This setup has worked fine up until now. The catalyst was me now adding an extra tape into the mix. I'm now adding a scratch media as my Differential job is starting to fill up one of the 2 tapes being used so I needed to add a 3rd tape to the mix. With this new scratch media available, my DR job is utilizing it instead of my DR tape and I can't figure out why. Both the scratch media and my DR tape are "Overwritable" and "Not appendable". My DR backup job is set to "Append to media, overwrite if no appendable media is available".

Can someone please explain why this job will not use the correct media tape?

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Kiran_Bandi
Level 6
Partner Accredited

I would like to be sure that my Diff overrun job would indeed spill over onto the scratch media tape and not another overwritable media set

Incase BE needs a overwritable media, it will look into target media set first with the proposed setting ( in your case monday and tuesday) if found any it will use, otherwise will use the media from SCRATCH media set. If none are available in target media set and SCRATCH media set then it will choose recyclable media from other media sets.

Why would just this DR job grab the scratch media instead of the DR tape

Absolutely expected as the media management setting is set to use SCRATCH media before using recyclable media in target media set.

Hope this is clear....

EDIT: How backup exec searches for overwritable media: http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO22313