cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Migration from 2010 R3 to 2012

xadox
Level 5

I would like to migrate with BackupExec 2010 R3 to a new installed server on the same hardware with the same name to BackupExec 2012.

I have backuped the Catalog and Data folder on 2010 now I want to migrate this to the new installed 2012 installation.

Could someone help with with the migration?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

AmolB
Moderator
Moderator
Employee Accredited Certified

For migrating BE2010 R3 to BE2012 on a different server,

Refer to http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH50537

 

 

EDIT:  For the "Upgrade Version" registry key enter the value as 13.0.5204.0

You may also try performing inplace upgrade and then moving the installation to the new server.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

AmolB
Moderator
Moderator
Employee Accredited Certified

For migrating BE2010 R3 to BE2012 on a different server,

Refer to http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH50537

 

 

EDIT:  For the "Upgrade Version" registry key enter the value as 13.0.5204.0

You may also try performing inplace upgrade and then moving the installation to the new server.

pkh
Moderator
Moderator
   VIP    Certified

I doubt this document is applicable to BE 2012.  It is radically different from the previous versions.

CraigV
Moderator
Moderator
Partner    VIP    Accredited

Hi xadox,

 

Just did an upgradein a lab environment, and it is really straight-forward. It will migrate the BEDB to BE 2012, and at the end of that, will ask if you want to revert back to the older version...ie: Roll back the installation. You'd click Next and run through the upgrade.

Have your license keys available, or a license key file that you can import. I did run into an issue during the upgrade when SQL Express tried to install, and it was resolved with the TN below:

http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=TECH64580

Once you have upgraded, it basically trashes all your backup jobs, so make sure you are aware of the changes being made...Run LiveUpdate to install any patches that have been released, and then push-install these patches out to your remote servers.

 

THanks!

gilbert08
Level 5
Partner Accredited

additional:

Check the licenses neede to apply. If license upgarde would be neede call the licensing team to update your license.