cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Monthly backups to Disk (NAS) - how to set up?

FRuk
Level 2

Hi,

I am new to Backup Exec and am setting up a backup for a small client with relatively large volumes of data, approx 7TB. They are storing this data on a NAS and they have installed a second, larger NAS to hold backups of the production NAS and a couple of servers including Exchange. The backup NAS is about 11TB.

What I would like to do is to keep a rolling backup for 4 weeks - the client understands and accepts the inherent risk in only keeping data for this short period. What I *think* need to do is a Monthly Full, followed by a daily incremental, however I am not clear if this will work - the next Monthly Full would have to overwrite the existing Full, so would the incrementals taken before the new Full continue to be valid? Since I have overwritten the Full that they were staged from.

In order to do this, do I need enough space on the backup NAS to hold two Monthly Full backups? I have outlined my setup below, any suggestions or clarification would be very gratefully received - I am really picking this up as I go and I don't want to find in 6 months that I didn't get it right and can't restore some key files..

I have created 4 folders on the NAS;

Server/Exchange Backup Full
Server/Exchange Backup Incr
NAS Backup Full
NAS backup Incr

Which are added as Backup-to-Disk Devices in BackupExec

And created 4 jobs within Backup Exec;

Server/Exchange Backup Full
Server/Exchange Backup Incr
NAS Backup Full
NAS backup Incr

The full jobs go to the Full folders and the Incremental jobs to the Incr folders - I think perhaps this is wrong, and that the Full and Incremental jobs should go to the same folders.

Full jobs are currently set to Keep Data for 4 weeks and then overwrite, Incremental Jobs are set to Daily backup and Append or terminate.

Thank you

4 REPLIES 4

SuperBrain
Employee Accredited