cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Backup Exec user - PLEASE HELP!

Doofus1980
Level 4

Hi!

I have been given the task of taking care of backups here at work. I'm a newbie. I have downloaded the backup exec 12.5 manual.pdf and BeAdmin_en.pdf documents and find it very confusing to say the least. It just keeps me running around and skipping to other sections in the manual, "please see" this and this and this....I understand there is a lot of functionality in this software but I only need to use a fraction of that. I have managed to get a daily backup going but I need to expand.

I have loaded 5 tapes into the drive. One to be used as a weekly full backup, one as a daily backup, etc etc.

How do I:

1. Tell the job I've just set up which slot to use, i.e, which tape it must use?

2. Can BE delete the contents from the original folder once I've backed it up?

3. After adding the 4 new tapes I ran my "daily" backup, why did it select the tape in slot 2, and not the tape it used originally?

Thanks for any input, any help will be great! smiley

Albert

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

itsmeaffinity
Level 6

Hi ,

1 If you want to point your job to specific slot then you need to configure partition which will allow you to configure backup to specific slot in library

for same you can refer admin guide section or you can click on link below

http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH27909

This is link applicable in case of version 12 too

Thank You

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12

itsmeaffinity
Level 6

Hi ,

1 If you want to point your job to specific slot then you need to configure partition which will allow you to configure backup to specific slot in library

for same you can refer admin guide section or you can click on link below

http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH27909

This is link applicable in case of version 12 too

Thank You

AmolB
Employee Accredited Certified

Hi Albert