cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to BackUp Exec

antz33
Not applicable
Hi professional in this forum

I have an Dell ML6000 connected to a Dell 2950 PowerEdge server via fibre. I am new in this BackUp exec and I am only using my knowledge gained from reading the manuals onhow to conduct a back up. I can access my ML6000 from anywhere on the network, and I can also see the drives (as robotic drives) on BackUp Exec. Now the problem is backing up data. I ran the back up wizard but it doesnt allow me to back up the data, i have a couple of questions in this regard (some might bbe stupid questions):

1. When one is backing up their data, where is the tape (these 800G tape hard drives) suppose to be. Is it in the drive itself or the storage area (slots),  i figured it cant be the I/E stations for obvious reasons.

2. And as a matter of fact, what are the functions of these things. I mean i know the I/E station is used to import or export, storage area for tape storage or library....then what is the drive there for?

3. When configuring a job on back up exec....what is the use of having a media set or can you just back up without one. Which robotic device do you chose? (I currently can see 1 robotic device with 2 drives)  

Any relevent documents is deeply appreciated

Regards,

The not so Professional
1 REPLY 1

Colin_Weaver
Employee Accredited Certified
1 - The tapes should be stored in the storage slots - and backup exec will move them to the drive as required.

2. - The I/E slots are so you can insert or remove tapes from the library withouth having to open uo the library itself which would interrupt other operations