cancel
Showing results forΒ 
Search instead forΒ 
Did you mean:Β 

Oracle Backup & Restore using Backup Exec 2012

Worker
Level 2

Hi,

i'm new to Backup Exec and don't know if my issues are related to missing knowledge, misconfiguration or incompatibilities of the systems.

I have configured Backup Exec to take Backups of my Oracle Instance and then i tested the recovery process.

In more detail this means, backup of a single Tablespace (Backup job successful), change of some data (Records) on oracle and recovery (Recovery job Successful) of such tablespace.

My issue is:

Performing the recovery of such tablespace does not recover any data (The data still remain as after change).

I have testet such thing using online Backups with Oracle in Archivelog mode and offline Backups while Oracle was not in Archivelog mode.

Environment: (all server installed on VMware servers)

* Symantec Backup Exec 2012   14.0 Rev. 1798 64bit      on Server 2008 R2

* Oracle 11g (11.2.0.1.0)                                                 on SLES 11 (64 bit)

* Ralus client (1798.1373.0)

Thank you

This is the output of the Restore Job Log:

# -----------------------------------------------------------------
 # RMAN command section
 # -----------------------------------------------------------------

RUN {
 ALLOCATE CHANNEL ch0
     TYPE 'SBT_TAPE';
 SEND 'BSA_SERVICE_HOST=backupserverip,NBBSA_TOTAL_STREAMS=1,NBBSA_JOB_COOKIE={3C7DB8D2-6192-4003-B465-479C2C4988A1},NBBSA_DB_DEVICE_NAME=Oracle-Linux::\\oracleserverfqdn\ALLSVL01';

RESTORE
     TABLESPACE
         'TEST_TS';

RECOVER
     TABLESPACE
         'TEST_TS';

RELEASE CHANNEL ch0;
 alter database open;
 }
using target database control file instead of recovery catalog
allocated channel: ch0
channel ch0: SID=133 device type=SBT_TAPE
channel ch0: Symantec/BackupExec/1.1.0

sent command to channel: ch0

Starting restore at 20-AUG-14

channel ch0: starting datafile backup set restore